logo

Signs of power

Signs of power

02.03 - 29.04.2017

In ancient Greece, man and city showed their piety with sculptures considered as the artistic expression of the Gods. Phidias, Greek sculptor (438 BC) had the reputation of being the only man who knew the image of the Gods that he revealed to men with his sculptures. African statuary may be assimilated to this belief because it is also perceived as being of divine essence, assuring liturgical functions as a receptacle of sacred powers.

Modern African sculptors have freed themselves from this mystical charge of their work, Charly d'Almeida claims it. He creates his faces and sculptures from recovered materials and introduces religious signs of Benin, his native country. Iron and wood are the referents.

Remembering the African doxa of the "SAKOFA" Charly d'Alméida is convinced that he cannot move forward if he forgets the past. He knows where he comes from, remembers his childhood bathed in an environment where religion is omnipresent. His creations are a subtle experience that does not stem from ready-made shapes. With raw materials he creates these forms; his hand bending to the requirements of his imagination.

Charly d'Almeida decided to talk about his culture and of his ancestral beliefs in his work. One way to keep his inner balance. His expression is rooted deep in the cults and rituals that surround him since his youngest age. Through the canvases and sculptures of "Signs of Power", marked by a strong symbolism, the artist affirms his cultural affiliation, his identity and, fully in his role as witness of his time, expresses the various feelings of the society he belongs to.

Event Details

  • From: 26 June 2019
  • To: 26 June 2019
  • Starting at: 00:00
  • Finishing at: 00:00

logo

Signes de Pouvoir

Signes de Pouvoir

02.03 - 29.04.2017

Dans la Grèce antique, l’homme et la cité manifestaient leur piété par la sculpture considérée comme l’expression artistique des Dieux. On disait de Phidias, sculpteur Grec, (438 av. J.-C.) qu’il était le seul à connaître l’image des Dieux et qu’il l’a révélée aux hommes par ses sculptures. Un rapprochement avec la statuaire africaine est permis car elle est perçue comme étant d’essence divine, assurant les fonctions liturgiques en tant que réceptacle de puissances sacrées.

Les sculpteurs modernes africains se sont affranchis de cette charge mystique de leurs travaux, Charly d’Alméida la revendique. Il crée ses visages et ses sculptures à partir de matériaux de récupération et y introduit des signes religieux du Bénin, son pays natal. Le fer et le bois en sont les référents.

Ayant en mémoire la doxa africaine du « SAKOFA » Charly d’Alméida est persuadé qu’il ne peut avancer en oubliant le passé. Il sait d’où il vient, se rappelle son enfance baignée dans un environnement où la religion est omniprésente. Ses créations sont une expérience subtile qui ne découle pas de formes toutes faites. Avec des matériaux bruts il travaille ces formes ; sa main se pliant aux exigences de son imagination.

Charly d’Alméida a pris le parti de parler de sa culture de ses croyances ancestrales dans son travail. Une façon à lui de garder son équilibre intérieur. Son écriture tire ses racines au plus profond des cultes et rites dans lesquels il baigne depuis son plus jeune âge. À travers les toiles et sculptures de « Signes de Pouvoir », empreintes d’une symbolique forte, l’Artiste affirme son appartenance culturelle, son identité et, pleinement dans son rôle de témoin de son temps, exprime les divers sentiments de la société à laquelle il appartient.

Event Details

  • From: 20 octobre 2018
  • To: 20 octobre 2018
  • Starting at: 00:00
  • Finishing at: 00:00