logo

Au Fil du Temps

07.03.2019 - 13.04.2019

The woman, in her role of wife, mother, sister, confidente, real rampart for the artist who grew up and evolved in the comfort and protection of maternal love, the crowds, the markets, are the favorite topics treated at Will by the artist Ablade Glover.

Born in 1934 in Accra, Ghana, Professor Ablade Glover graduated from the University of Science and Technology of Kumasi, Ghana. He appears in the "Who's Who in the World", the "International Dictionary of Contemporary Artists" and the "Who's Who in Art and Antiques." He is one of Ghana's best—known artists, having accumulated an impressive number of awards for his dedication and enthusiasm for education, both nationally and internationally. Until 1994, he was Associate Professor, Head of Department and Dean of the School of Fine Arts at the University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana and received the FLAGSTAR Award, the highest Ghanaian distinction in the field of art.

The work of Professor Glover can be found in such diverse public and private collections around the world as the Imperial Palace Collection of Japan, the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris and Chicago's O'Hare International Airport amongst others. He has exhibited extensively in West Africa, Europe, the USA and Japan. A recipient of the distinguished AFGRAD Alumni Award by the African—Americam Institute in New York, he is also a Life Fellow of the Royal Society of Art in London.

Professor Ablade Glover exhibited for the first time in Ivory Coast at the Arts Pluriels Gallery in Abidjan in 1992 and in 2011, during the International Exhibition of Plastic Arts in Abidjan. The best things come in threes, hence LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery is pleased to present an exhibition of his paintings on the occasion of his 85th birthday.

Unsurprisingly, his 0ils on canvas treat of African mothers, his own in particular, alone or in groups, to which he gives an appearance full of grandeur and nobility. They are the ones portrayed in the market scenes, which in the eyes of the painter are the link between the village and the city, the past and the present of African towns.

Professor Glover's compositions seem abstract at first glance, but they reveal very realistic at a distance, teeming With life and warm colors. His technique and his way of impressing thick—layer painting With knife touches evokes the classical style. Using the warm tones of his country he portrays vibrant scenes of Ghanaian life, crowds moving in the markets, simple landscapes or flamboyant trees imposing in their red dress.

Like Claude Monet and his water lilies, Ablade Glover, as time goes by, never grew tired of painting women, markets, crowds, the symbols of his country, Ghana.

Simone Guirandou N'Diaye

Event Details

  • From: 17 September 2019
  • To: 17 September 2019
  • Starting at: 00:00
  • Finishing at: 00:00

logo

Au Fil du Temps

07.03.2019 - 13.04.2019

La femme, établie dans son rôle d'épouse, mère, sœur, confidente, véritable rempart pour l'artiste qui a grandi et évolué dans le confort et la protection de l'amour maternel, la foule, le marché sont les thèmes favoris traités à volonté par l'artiste Ablade Glover.

Né en 1934 à Accra, Ghana, Professeur Ablade Glover est diplômé de l'Université de Science et Technologie de Kumasi, Ghana. Enseignant et membre à vie de 151 Société Royale des Arts de Londres, il figure dans le "Who's Who in the World“, le "Dictionnaire International des Artistes Contemporains" et le "Who's Who in Art and Antiques". Il est l'un des artistes les plus connus du Ghana ayant accumulé un nombre impressionnant de distinctions pour son dévouement et son enthousiasme au service de l'éducation, tant au niveau national qu'international. Il fut jusqu'en 1994 Professeur Associé, Chef de Département et Doyen de l'Ecole des Beaux—Arts de l'Université de Science et Technologie de Kumasi, Ghana et a reçu le FLAGSTAR Award, distinction la plus élevée dans le domaine de l'art au Ghana.

Les travaux du professeur Glover se trouvent dans des collections publiques et privées aussi diverses que la collection du Palais Impérial au Japon, le siège de l‘UNESCO à Paris et l'aéroport international O'Hare de Chicago, entre autres. Il a exposé en Afrique de l'Ouest, en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Japon. Récipiendaire du prestigieux AFGRAD Alumni Award de l'Institut afro—américain de New York, il est également membre associé à vie de la Royal Society of Art de Londres.

Professeur Ablade Glover & exposé pour la première fois en Côte d'Ivoire à la Galerie Arts Pluriels à Abidjan en 1992 puis en 2011, dans le cadre du Salon international des Arts Plastiques d‘Abidjan. Comme le dit l'adage : « jamais deux sans trois >>, ainsi LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery se réjouit de le recevoir à partir du 7 Mars à l'occasion de ses 85 ans.

Sans surprise, ses huiles sur tofle traitent des mères africaines, la sienne en particulier, seules ou en groupe, auxquelles il confère une apparence pleine de grandeur et de noblesse. Ce sont elles en effet que l'on retrouve dans les scènes de marchés, lesquelles aux yeux du peintre font le lien entre le village et la ville, le passé et le présent des cités africaines.

Les compositions du Professeur Glover semblent de prime abord abstraites, mais se révèlent, à distance très réalistes, grouillantes de vie et de couleurs chaudes. Sa technique et sa manière d’empâter la peinture en couches épaisses par des touches au couteau évoque le style classique. En utilisant les tons chauds de son pays il dépeint des scènes vibrantes de la vie ghanéenne, les foules évoluant dans les marchés ou tout simplement des paysages, aux flamboyants imposants dans leur robe de couleur rouge.

Tout comme Claude Monet et ses nymphéas, Ablade Gover, au fil du temps, ne s‘est jamais Passé de peindre les femmes, les marchés, les foules...les symboles de son pays, le Ghana.

Simone Guirandou—N'Diaye

Event Details

  • From: 13 décembre 2019
  • To: 13 décembre 2019
  • Starting at: 00:00
  • Finishing at: 00:00