logo

Leslie Lumeh

Leslie Lumeh was born in 1970 in Dambala, Grand Cape Mount County, in western Liberia. He lives and works in Monrovia. After receiving his degree in architecture at the Booker Washington Institute (BWI) in Kakata, Leslie Lumeh oriented himself towards an artistic career and developed a deep knowledge of illustration and comic book art. Since 2005, he has worked with Liberia’s oldest independent newspaper, The Daily Observer.

In 2008, on his return from exile in the Ivory Coast (1997 -2005), Leslie Lumeh created the Art of the Heart Gallery, the first gallery to open after the civil war. He is the founder of the first visual art school in Monrovia, LiVArts, and president of the Liberia Association Inc. (LAA), an organization devoted to the advancement of art in Liberia.

He works using various techniques: oil, acrylic, charcoal, watercolors and gouache. Painting is the preferred technique of this autodidact artist. Through his figurative pieces, he shows a realist vision of landscapes and the urban environment, in which he lives.

Leslie Lumeh began showing his work in 1993, and then was selected in 2008 to participate in the exhibition Africa Now!, organized by the World Bank in Washington, D.C. In 2014, he also exhibited his work at the French Ambassador’s residence in Monrovia.

Download le CV de Leslie Lumeh
See more : leslielumeh.com

Comments are closed.

logo

Leslie Lumeh

Leslie Lumeh est né en 1970 à Dambala, Grand Cape Mount Country, dans l’ouest de la Libéria. Il vit et travaille à Monrovia. Après l’obtention d’un diplôme d’architecture au Booker Washington Institute (BWI) de Kakata, Leslie Lumeh s’oriente vers la création artistique et développe un savoir-faire d’illustrateur et de bédéiste en travaillant pour le plus ancien journal indépendant du Libéria, The Daily Observer, depuis 2005.

Après le retour de son exil en Côte d’Ivoire de 1997 à 2005, Leslie Lumeh crée en 2008 la galerie Art of the Heart, première galerie voyant le jour depuis la fin de la guerre civile. Il est également fondateur de la première école d’arts plastiques de Monrovia, LiVArts, et préside la Liberia Association Inc. (LAA), une organisation dédiée à la promotion de l’art au Liberia.

Bien que travaillant diverses techniques avec des matières variées, de la peinture à l’huile à l’acrylique, comprenant le fusain, l’aquarelle ou la gouache, la technique de prédilection de ce plasticien autodidacte est la peinture. À travers ses œuvres figuratives, il nous propose une vision réaliste des paysages et de l’environnement urbain dans lequel il vit.

Leslie Lumeh commence à exposer son travail dès 1993, puis est sélectionné en 2008 pour participer à l’exposition Africa Now !, initiée par la Banque Mondiale à Washington DC, aux Etats-Unis. En 2014, il expose également à la résidence de l’ambassadeur Français à Monrovia.

Télécharger le CV de Leslie Lumeh
Voir plus : leslielumeh.com

Comments are closed.